2016 marks the 25th Anniversary of the Krista Sepp Memorial Awards!

These Awards recognize and honour the work of direct service staff working in the child and youth care field. We want to hear from you about how we should celebrate the 25th anniversary. We also want to reflect on how we should shape the awards for the next 25 years.

The Krista Sepp Memorial Awards are held each year to honour the work of child and youth workers/counsellors in Ontario and are a meaningful celebration for all child and youth service agencies across the province. The Awards were established by Kinark in 1991 to honour the memory of Krista Sepp, who lost her life on February 3, 1989, while performing her duties as a child and youth worker (CYW).

Two front-line child and youth/social service workers who have made exemplary contributions to the field of practice and who emulate the professional Krista would have become will be honoured at the annual luncheon. Nominations are received from across Ontario from all child-serving sectors including child and youth mental health, child welfare, youth justice, education and health.

The Horizon Award recognizes excellent work of direct service staff with up to five years of experience working in the CYW/CYC/or relevant Social Services field.

The Mentoring Award honours the ongoing excellent contributions of direct service staff with more than five years of experience in the CYW/CYC/or relevant Social Services field.

New Submission Process
This year, we have a new online nomination submission process that requires the nominator to complete and submit their nomination form online. The following link will direct you to the online nomination form, Krista Sepp Nomination Form.

A Word document is available for you to draft your responses. For a copy of the Word version, see the left sidebar titled Word Template or click here. You will then need to copy and paste your answers into the online form to be considered for a Krista Sepp Horizon or Mentoring Award at the following link, Krista Sepp Nomination Form.